Tuesday, November 2, 2010

The 2010 Giants, A to Z

It really happened. A bunch of guys virtually nobody outside the Bay Area thought could win it did win it.

In tribute, an alphabetical salute to the 2010 World Series champs. Sure, it's a bit slapdash. But let's not forget--this is a team of "castoffs and misfits", so perhaps my list is fitting.

Andres Torres (leading off, of course)

Bruce Bochy

Cody Ross

Darren Ford (remember his mad dash to score the winning run on September 1st?)

Edgar Renteria

The Freak (and his favorite phrase "F--- yeah!")

Guillermo Mota

Aubrey Huff

Travis Ishikawa

Jeremy Affeldt

K's. Lots of them: the Giants led all of baseball with 1331 regular-season strikeouts. Oh, and Kruk and Kuip, too!

Javier Lopez

Madison Bumgarner and Matt Cain. Tough young dudes.

Nate Schierholtz

Sergio RomO (and his 0.00 NLCS and World Series ERA)

Buster Posey

Quick: when do pitchers and catchers report?

Aaron Rowand

Sanchezes, Freddy and Jonathan

Todd Wellemeyer (don't laugh: he won 3 games and the Giants needed every one to make the playoffs)

Juan Uribe

Eugenio Velez (did you ever see a more animated non-roster player in a postseason dugout?)

Brian Wilson

X for Wilson's post-save gesture

Yes, they really did end 53 years of San Francisco Giants futility

Barry Zito and Zoolander (the inspiration for Huff's incredible Rally Thong move at the victory parade)

No comments: